Early Years Curriculum

EYFS at Dane Royd J&I School 

Here at Dane Royd, through our Nursery (LFS) and Reception (UFS) classes, your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development as set out in the Development Matters Framework set out by the government.

Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. These are:

· Communication and language;

· Physical development; and

· Personal, social and emotional development.

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:

· Literacy;

· Mathematics;

· Understanding the world; and

· Expressive arts and design.


These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities.

The early years framework is designed to be really flexible so that we can follow your child's unique needs and interests and we will be teaching and supporting your child by making sure that the activities are suited to these needs and interests. At Dane Royd we plan around a topic focus but our planning evolves to address areas for development, interests and challenge, we then plan reflecting on these areas in our provision and direct teaching.

Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside, therefore they will learn a lot through their experiences that will feel a lot like ‘play’ to them and this is crucial to their development in learning. This type of play can get ‘messy’, which means your child could come home showing signs of the different provision they have used to support their learning (mud, playdough, paint, foam etc.). At Dane Royd, we aim to achieve an age related balance of child initiated play, play scaffolding and directed teaching.

We spend a lot of time observing your children to see what they can already do and then designing activities to help them develop other skills or widen their interests. We wait until your child is ready for a new skill before asking them to develop it so that we can ensure that they are able to succeed and we don’t them to be ‘put off’ learning.



The diagram below gives examples of the areas of learning and development, and shows the links between the way your child learns and what they learn.





At the end of the EYFS – in the summer term of the reception year in school – we complete an assessment which is known as the EYFS Profile. This assessment is based on what we have observed over a period of time. Another important part of the EYFS Profile is your knowledge about your child’s learning and development, so do let us know about what your child does with you: such as how confident your child is in writing their name, reading and talking about a favourite book, speaking to people your child is not so familiar with or their understanding of numbers. All of the information collected is used to judge how your child is doing in the 7 areas of learning and development.

To download the Development Matters Framework booklet click below.

Call Us: 01924 242917   /headteacher@daneroyd.wakefield.sch.uk   /  Stoney Lane, Hall Green, Wakefield, WF4 3LZ


The Designated Senior Lead for Safeguarding in school is Miss Kelly.

The Deputy Designated Safeguarding Leads are Mrs Kendall, Mr Mensah and Mrs White. Should you have any safeguarding concerns, you should contact one of our Safeguarding leads.

A Wakefield Local Authority Maintained School